Full Paper Session Moderator Instructions

THANK YOU FOR VOLUNTEERING TO SERVE AS A FULL PAPER SESSION MODERATOR FOR FIE 2020!

[If you have not yet volunteered and would like to, please fill out this form.]

Before your session:

  • Revise the Hopin platform training video and attend a training session if you would like additional practice.
  • Reach out to each corresponding author in your session at least one week before the conference.
  • Know if there are any cancellations. Please refer to the conference platform schedule to see the current listing of papers in your session.
  • Watch each author’s video and prepare a question or two that you could ask of each author in case there are none that are forthcoming at the end of each talk. Videos will be available in due time. We also recommend reading each paper, if you have time.

During your session:

  • Be in your technical session virtual room at least 10 minutes prior to the scheduled starting time. This will allow time to meet the speakers, collect their bios for introductions if you haven’t done so already, discuss session procedures, and confirm presentation modes with the technical support staff.
  • Introduce the session briefly (<1 min) and make any FIE announcements that are needed.
  • Briefly introduce each speaker and paper.
  • Manage time during the session — hold each presentation to its time limit. Part of FIE culture is allowing people to slip between sessions to see papers of particular interest. This only works if you keep presentations exactly on time.
    • Paper presentations should start every 15 minutes (do not condense or expand time slots, even for no-shows or cancellations). Thus, presenters should not present any longer than 10 minutes (live presentations or played videos). The live Q&A can go on for 3-4 minutes, and then quickly transition to the next presenter to prepare (any remaining time, approximately 1-2 minutes).
  • Manage audience questions in the chat and ensure that presentations occur within their predefined time slots.

Other Notes and Suggestions:

  • Work directly with the assigned technical support staff if there are technical problems.
  • If the pre-recorded video runs beyond the total scheduled time slot, it is necessary for you to cut off the presentation.
  • Be prepared to help speakers manage the question period following each presentation. Keep track of the available time and limit questions, if necessary. You may need to remind speakers to repeat the question, so everyone can hear it, or even to ask the first question or two if the audience is not very responsive. You will also need to monitor the chat for questions.
  • In the event of a no-show or cancellation, feel free to use the time to best benefit the audience. For example, encourage conversation between authors if their papers are related, provide extra time for questions about other papers, or just provide a break.

 

 

 

 

Time Zones

 

Thursday October, 22 2020:

Conference starts and ends:

Los Angeles, USA (PDT — UTC/GMT -7): 3:30 AM — 2:45 PM
Houston, USA (CDT — UTC/GMT -5): 5:30 AM — 4:45 PM
New York, USA (EDT — UTC/GMT -4): 6:30 AM — 5:45 PM
São Paulo, Brazil (BRT — UTC/GMT -3): 7:30 AM — 6:45 PM
London, UK (BST — UTC/GMT +1): 11:30 — 22:45
Stockholm, Sweden (CEST — UTC/GMT +2): 12:30 — 23:45
New Dehli, India (IST — UTC/GMT +5:30): 16:00 — 03:15 (+1day)
Beijing, China (CST — UTC/GMT +8): 18:30 — 05:45 (+1day)

Tokyo, Japan (JST — UTC/GMT +9): 19:30 — 06:45 (+1day)
Sydney, Australia (AEDT — UTC/GMT +11): 21:30 — 08:45 (+1day)

 

 

Friday October, 23 2020:

Conference starts and ends:

Los Angeles, USA (PDT — UTC/GMT -7): 1:00 AM — 2:45 PM
Houston, USA (CDT — UTC/GMT -5): 03:00 AM — 4:45 PM
New York, USA (EDT — UTC/GMT -4): 4:00 AM — 5:45 PM
São Paulo, Brazil (BRT — UTC/GMT -3): 5:00 AM — 6:45 PM
London, UK (BST — UTC/GMT +1): 09:00 — 22:45
Stockholm, Sweden (CEST — UTC/GMT +2): 10:00 — 23:45
New Dehli, India (IST — UTC/GMT +5:30): 13:30 — 03:15 (+1day)
Beijing, China (CST — UTC/GMT +8): 16:00 — 05:45 (+1day)

Tokyo, Japan (JST — UTC/GMT +9): 17:00 — 06:45 (+1day)
Sydney, Australia (AEDT — UTC/GMT +11): 19:00 — 08:45 (+1day)

 

 

Saturday October, 24 2020:

Conference starts and ends:

Los Angeles, USA (PDT — UTC/GMT -7): 1:00 AM — 2:45 PM
Houston, USA (CDT — UTC/GMT -5): 03:00 AM — 4:45 PM
New York, USA (EDT — UTC/GMT -4): 4:00 AM — 5:45 PM
São Paulo, Brazil (BRT — UTC/GMT -3): 5:00 AM — 6:45 PM
London, UK (BST — UTC/GMT +1): 09:00 — 22:45
Stockholm, Sweden (CEST — UTC/GMT +2): 10:00 — 23:45
New Dehli, India (IST — UTC/GMT +5:30): 13:30 — 03:15 (+1day)
Beijing, China (CST — UTC/GMT +8): 16:00 — 05:45 (+1day)

Tokyo, Japan (JST — UTC/GMT +9): 17:00 — 06:45 (+1day)
Sydney, Australia (AEDT — UTC/GMT +11): 19:00 — 08:45 (+1day)

 

For more information about time zones, please visit https://www.timeanddate.com/time/map/

 

 

Contact

Academic Conferences
Phone + 46 (0) 18 67 10 03
E-mail: fie2020@akademikonferens.se
(for practical questions about your registration)

AppInConf
E-mail: abstracts.fie2020@appinconf.com
(for questions about abstract submission)

Academic Conferences. Logotype.